General Conditions


  • Submissions in all categories may include completed projects carried out outside the Maltese Islands.
  • Registration must be made online. Entrants will receive confirmation that their entry or entries have been successfully received via email once payment has been made.
  • An entry may be submitted in a maximum of two categories as long as they meet the specific category description and criteria. Each category entry is a separate unique submission and is independent of any other entry, even if it is the same project.
  • Incomplete entries will not be accepted. No changes will be allowed by the submitter after the submission deadline.
  • Previously awarded projects may not be re-submitted.
  • Any entrant who upon registration enters false information may result in disqualification.

Fees & Payment

  • Each project that is submitted will be charged a fee of €120. If the same project is resubmitted in a second category, then the fee for this additional category will be of €75. A discount is applied to the cart upon checkout. A project may only be submitted in a maximum of two categories.
  • If you choose to submit a project in two categories, then you will need to fill in two separate forms, since the fields in each category submission are not all identical.
  • University Students applying for the Urban Planning Concept Award category will pay a discounted fee of €25.
  • Any submission for the Architecture Photography Award category will against a fee of €45.
  • Payment must be made online. Entries will not be accepted without payment. No other payment method will be accepted except at the discretion of the Planning Authority.

Why you should showcase your projects ... with the chance to win

  • Boosts morale in your team;
  • Valuable experience of overcoming the challenge of putting your story out there;
  • Gives you credibility within the industry;
  • Fantastic platform for all things marketing – exposure, brand development, advertising and endorsement.

The MASP Awards have become a prestigious calendar event for the architecture and interior design industry. Winners are given a year-long window of exposure and publicity through various TV programmes, social media posts, newspaper and magazine articles, outdoor exhibition and a high quality coffee-table publication.   Every category award winner will also be presented with a framed certificate and a distinct and elegant trophy designed and produced by Contemporary modern artist Kane Cali. A commemorative bronze plaque will also be presented to the owners of the property for which the award was given.



Opening of Submissions

Friday 12th November 2021

Closing of Submissions

Friday 7th January 2022

Jury Sessions

24th – 28th January 2022

Public Voting

24th January – 05th February 2022

Award Ceremony

Saturday 26th February 2022

Judging Criteria

The Jury will evaluate submitted projects based on the following criteria:


the project’s built-form and how it manifests the stated intent through its materiality, shape and detailing. The stance on its relationship to its surroundings, its users and the public at large. How appropriate and relevant is the project to its audience and the message it is supporting.


Each entry should indicate the purpose for which the project is intended. The jury will refer to the project’s description to understand which functional criteria was the primary concern. The plan should work well for the intended use, regardless if it is targeted at the client, the users that occupy the project, the public that encounters it, or even the virtual visitors that are confronted by its photographic representation.


Architecture is a relentlessly forward-looking field that embraces new technologies and countenances shifting social and demographic trends with curiosity and eagerness. The jury will be looking for projects that take a fresh approach or work to improve existing practices. The originality of concept or appreciable refinement of current techniques may also be considered.


Each project must have the excellence of thought analysis, writing, graphics, presentation, communication, and development of understanding.

Energy Efficiency

The extent to which design, physical construction or development has taken into account ‘energy-saving’ measures to reduce the project’s overall environmental impact and how well were these measures carried out.

Adjudication Committee

  • The adjudicating committee will be made up of a minimum of six (6) persons including the Chairperson.
  • The adjudicating committee decision is final with no appeals will be entertained.
  • Each member of the adjudicating committee will agree to a non-disclosure agreement and declaration of no interest as a condition of acceptance.
  • Every member shall be duty-bound to abstain from sitting on the adjudicating committee or to attend any meeting in which s/he may have a conflict of interest.
  • The jury may request a site visit to any project it may deem necessary. Entrants are to notify property owners of this possible eventuality.
  • The jury reserves the right to consider a submitted project in a category other than the category the project was originally entered into.
  • A technical expert will be appointed for each category to assist the jury in the assessment process.
  • The Authority reserves the right not to award any category should the judging panel reach an agreement that none of the submissions meets the required standards.

Terms and Conditions

The Authority reserves the right to make use of all photography, drawings and other information submitted by an entrant for any publicity and promotional purposes related to the Awards. Entrants by way of their submission are giving the organisers the right to reproduce any of the material in whole or in part without payment of copyright.

Applicants represent and warrant that all materials submitted will not infringe or constitute a misappropriation of any right of any third party, including any copyrights or confidentiality rights and agree to protect the Planning Authority against any liabilities, damages, losses, costs or expenses arising as a result thereof.

Planning Authority employees are prohibited from submitting any entries for any of the award categories.